Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Weldon B. Gibson Distinguished Volunteer Award

The Weldon B. Gibson Distinguished Volunteer Award is the WSU Foundation’s highest honor. The award is named for the Foundation’s founding chair, the late Dr. Weldon B. “Hoot” Gibson (’38 Bus. Admin.), who through his unselfish efforts and energy gave shape and direction to the University’s fundraising activities. Receiving this award is an esteemed honor bestowed upon those individuals whose service is measured by the highest levels of impact and achievement. The award is presented during the WSU Foundation’s annual Recognition Gala each fall.

Gibson Award Recipients


2015 Lloyd Osborn2014 Virginia Schafer
2013 Larry Culver2012 Ken & Sue Christianson
2011 Bob Smawley2010 Ronald & Heidi Stanley
2008 Barry Jones2007 Lee Sahlin
2006 Jacque Doane2005 Jack Dillon
2003 Robert & Ruth Gibb2002 John "Jack" Creighton
2001 Stan Coe2000 William "Biff" Brotherton
1999 Chris & Susan Marker1998 Frank A. Blethen
1997 Harry Mullikin1996 James C. Kraft
1995 Kate B. Webster1994 Jerry W. Camp
1993 Jay Rockey1992 Arthur & Helen Brunstad
1991 Phillip Lighty1990 Harold & Jeanne Olsen
1989 Orville Vogel1988 Robert McEachern
1987 Robert W. Austin1986 Donald C. Downen
1985 Michael Dederer1984 Glenn Terrell
1983 Weldon B. "Hoot" Gibson1982 Robert A. Cheatham
1981 George Goudy
Washington State University Foundation
Washington State University